Broccoli Cheddar Jalapeno Quinoa Fritters ~ Even Kids & Cowboys Like Them

 

Who doesn’t love fritters?  These are given a modern spin by the addition of quinoa. They’re crispy on the outside and moist in the centers.  A bit of cheddar cheese provides  creaminess against the heat of the jalapeno. Broccoli complements the cheddar in a good way. Think broccoli cheddar soup and you’ll get the idea.

They’re a healthier riff on the typical deep fried jalapeno poppers that have become a staple item on American bar menus.

They’re lightly pan fried. It’s sort of like making pancakes. They cook that fast.

This is the most popular recipe over at my other blog Jilly Inspired.  One of the most popular recipes on Pinterest too. I’ve received  comments that even cowboys and kids like them. Readers have prepared them many different ways. Some have even baked them. It makes my heart happy to see  people  enjoying them. The joy of blogging is sharing my favorite recipes with you!

Don’t forget to check out my other vegetable fritters. Type fritter in the search on the upper right of the blog to see all of my recipes. I love making different kinds… from Thai-inspired corn fritters to leek and potato.  For a riff on these broccoli fritters, try my Cauliflower Cheddar Quinoa Fritters. For more fun vegan and vegetarian recipes, type vegan or vegetarian in the search.

This recipe is featured on The Huffington PostBuzz Feed Food & Honest Cooking.

I hope you try them! Happy Cooking!  xo ~ Jilly

 

broccoli fritters

 

Broccoli Cheddar Fritter Recipe

Makes about 10 fritters

Some Notes:

You have two choices for the flour you use in this recipe. Use self rising flour or for a gluten-free version, Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking Mix is my go-to choice.

You can make the quinoa the night before you’re going to serve them. Store it in an airtight container in the fridge.

I think kids will like them if you leave out the jalapeno. They’re loaded with protein, vitamins, minerals, fiber and calcium.

The fritters can be wrapped in plastic wrap and stored in the fridge for few days. They reheat well in the microwave. They lose some crispiness but still retain their flavor.

I serve them with lime wedges and sour cream. Greek yogurt pairs nicely with them too.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 generous cup of cooked broccoli, slightly cooled and diced into very small pieces. Steam it or boil it until bright green and tender.
  • 4-6 scallions, finely diced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, minced
  • 1-2 limes, zest one and reserve the zest.
  • 1/4 cup or a handful of finely chopped fresh parsley or cilantro (optional)
  • 2 cups cooked and cooled quinoa
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese or cheese of your choice.
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cups of self rising flour or Pamela’s gluten free mix (see notes)
  • Salt to taste
  • Olive oil or neutral tasting oil for pan frying
  •  Serving Suggestions: lime wedges, sour cream, Greek yogurt, salsa
Instructions:
Place the cooked broccoli, cooked quinoa, cheese, chili pepper, scallions, lime zest, parsley, milk, salt and eggs in a large bowl. Add self rising flour or Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking Mix to the bowl and stir everything together. Start with 1/3 cup of Pamela’s Gluten Free Mix or self rising flour and add more if the mixture seems too wet.
Heat a large nonstick frying pan on medium high  with some olive oil. I used my non-stick Scanpan for this recipe. Drop the batter by 1/3 cup fulls into the hot pan. Cook until golden brown on each side. Serving options are listed above. Enjoy!
19 thoughts on “Broccoli Cheddar Jalapeno Quinoa Fritters ~ Even Kids & Cowboys Like Them

      • Just a quick question….what would your advice be to get people looking at your blog? I would absolutely love to be pinned on Pinterest as you have with this recipe.

      • Do you have a Pinterest button below each of your recipes?

        I’ve been food blogging for years. I just recently switched over to WordPress. I’ve gotten on The Huffington Post by sharing my photos and recipes on Food52, Food Gawker, Tastespotting, Honest Cooking. Hundreds of people pin recipes from those sites. I share my recipes where and when I can, striving for decent photos with each one.

        Food photography is very hard for a novice like me. But practice makes perfect. We eat with our eyes first.

        Ask me any question you want. I love blabbering about food blogging. 😉

      • Thanks so much for your insight and time, appreciate it. Yea I have a pin it button. I know there’s tons of food bloggers out there, so it takes a lot of hard work to get noticed. I’ll have to check out sharing on food gawker ect, thanks for that. I’m a bit of a novice at all the techno stuff.
        Liking your posts, naomi

  1. There are tons of bloggers out there. It’s not easy getting on Food Gawker. I took some photo lessons and it helped. I’m a novice at all of it too. I keep slowly working at things. Thanks so much for the kind comments.

  2. Hi Jill, Thanks for sharing this recipe. Will AP or bread flour substitute for self rising? I don’t see the notes. Looking forward to giving these a try this weekend!

  3. Pingback: Barely Cooking: Broccoli Cheddar Jalapeño Quinoa Fritters | Mer's Mind

    • Bev, I’m sorry but i don’t know the exact nutritional values. I do know that these fritters have been reblogged and shared hundreds of times on Pinterest. Some people have said they bake them. Maybe someone else knows the values.
      Thanks for popping by!

Leave a Reply

