Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes ~ High in Protein & Incredibly Moist

Image

While browsing one of my favorite used book stores in a little town just outside Boston, I picked up  Vegetarian Planet at a bargain price. I would have paid more for this cookbook just for this one recipe. After my first bite of buckwheat pancakes, I said a silent thank you to the author for creating such a beautiful recipe.

You can use gluten free flour or regular white flour in this recipe. I bumped up the protein by adding Greek yogurt. They’re now in my weekly breakfast rotation. Since I consider myself a pancake devotee, I’m selective about my go-to pancake recipes. They have to be fluffy, light, moist and relatively easy. I’m not into whipping egg whites on weekday mornings.

If you’re looking for the same things in a pancake, they will not disappoint. Pleasantly sweet on their own, the addition of wild Maine blueberries makes them even better. I live in New England, so I often have them in my freezer. Regular fresh or frozen blueberries will be delicious too. Maple syrup, warm blueberry-maple syrup or a dusting of powdered sugar is the perfect topping.

 

buckwheat-pancakes recipe

 

 

Blueberry Buckwheat Pancake Recipe

Adapted from Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe in Vegetarian Planet by Didi Emmons

Makes 6 three to four inch pancakes

Some Notes: 

You can make these pancakes with gluten-free pancake mix or regular white flour. Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking Mix gives them a light texture which I adore. I find it in Whole Foods or on Amazon.

The batter is kind of thick, but it worked very well for me. It will be a slate gray color from the buckwheat flour. I used a 5.3 ounce container of Fage Greek Yogurt with blueberry in the side pocket. I used just the yogurt in the batter. It measured 1/3 cup. I guess you could stir the blueberry part into the maple syrup if you want to and warm it up.

These pancakes are high in protein from the addition of Greek yogurt that’s mixed into the batter. The yogurt also makes them incredibly moist which is needed in whole grain pancakes. I’ve had some whole grain pancakes that tasted like sawdust and some that were just too heavy and grainy tasting. These are not. They taste simply delicious. High in fiber, key flavonoids, anti-oxidants as well as very light and airy, buckwheat pancakes surprised me with their appealing texture and taste. I think you’ll like them too!

Buckwheat is gluten free. The nutritional profile is great!

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup of 2% Greek yogurt. You could also use nonfat too. I have only tried this recipe with Fage Brand.
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon of a neutral tasting oil or coconut oil. I used coconut oil, melted and cooled. Plus more for the pan. You could also use melted butter.
  • 6 tablespoons of regular white flour or Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking Mix
  • 6 tablespoons of buckwheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar. I use my natural, homemade vanilla sugar, (recipe link below)
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda. Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking Mix has some baking soda in it. So if you’re going the gluten-free route, a scant teaspoon of baking soda is all that’s needed.
  • pinch of salt
  • frozen or fresh blueberries
  • To Serve: maple syrup, powdered sugar or maple-blueberry syrup

Instructions:
In a medium bowl whisk the yogurt with the water and the egg, melted oil and the dry ingredients. Stir everything together until combined. Drop spoonfuls of batter(I use a 1/4 measuring cup) onto a nonstick, hot griddle lightly sprayed or drizzled with oil. I use my non-stick Scanpan for this recipe. Add a sprinkling of blueberries to each pancake in the pan while the batter is still wet. Cook them until golden on each side. Serve with powdered sugar or maple syrup.

6 thoughts on “Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes ~ High in Protein & Incredibly Moist

    • Hi Lindsey, They’ve been on the web for a while now. I was blogging at Blogger (Jilly Inspired is my old site). Anyway, I’m transferring my most popular recipes over here. Many readers told me they loved them. It’s rare to find a healthy and tasty pancake recipe. I’m so happy I found that bargain book. Thanks for stopping by. Love your site!

  1. Love this recipe!! I made buckwheat pancakes before, but they didn’t turn out that fluffy, I must give your recipe a try! 😉 Love the photos too! Thanks for stopping by my blog so I could discover yours! It’s so great! hugs

Leave a comment